Walker, Catoosa, and Chattooga Counties Included in Burn Ban


The Georgia Environmental Protection Division officially began its ban on outdoor burning on Monday and will remain in effect until first of September. Walker County and several other Georgia counties are under this restriction.

Counties Under the Burn Ban Include:

Banks   Barrow   Bartow   Bibb   Butts
Carroll   Catoosa   Chattooga   Cherokee   Clarke
Clayton   Cobb   Columbia   Coweta   Crawford
Dawson   DeKalb   Douglas
Fayette   Floyd   Forsyth   Fulton
Gordon   Gwinnett   Hall   Haralson
Heard   Henry   Houston
Jackson   Jasper   Jones   Lamar   Lumpkin
Madison   Meriwether   Monroe   Morgan
Newton   Oconee   Paulding   Peach   Pickens
Pike   Polk   Putnam   Richmond   Rockdale
Spalding   Troup   Twiggs   Upson   Walker   Walton

Burn permits from the Georgia Forestry Commission will not be necessary to burn outside in unincorporated areas of Walker County as of July 1, 2021 from October 1 to April 30.

For more information regarding the burn ban, visit the Walker County Government site!