Dade and Walker Designated as Primary Natural Disaster Area Due to Drought


Rep. Mike Cameron Announces House District 1 Designated as Primary Natural Disaster Area Due to Drought


ATLANTA – State Representative Mike Cameron (R-Rossville) announces that House District 1 has been designated as a natural disaster area due to drought conditions by the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA). Four counties, including Walker and Dade, have sustained eight or more weeks of severe, extreme or exceptional drought conditions, which allows USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend essential emergency credit to Georgia farmers impacted by these weather events.

“I would like to thank the USDA for recognizing this natural disaster and providing resources to affected Georgia farmers and producers in our area,” said Rep. Cameron. “I encourage farmers in House District 1 who have been impacted by these conditions to apply for USDA FSA loans. I want my constituents to be informed of the natural disaster declaration by the USDA and to know there is help available to them in this tough time.”

Loans from USDA FSA can be used to meet various recovery requirements, including replacing essential items such as farm equipment or livestock, reorganizing a farming operation or refinancing specific loans. FSA will review all loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. Georgia farmers and producers in Catoosa, Chattooga, Dade and Walker counties can apply by June 30, 2024. Farmers and producers in Floyd, Gordon and Whitfield counties are also eligible to apply. To access more USDA resources, please go to where you can view the Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool, Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet and Loan Assistance Tool to help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, please contact your local USDA Service Center.

Representative Mike Cameron represents the citizens of District 1, which includes Dade County and portions of Walker County. He was elected to the House of Representatives in 2020 and currently serves as Vice Chairman of the Human Relations & Aging and the Secretary of the Interstate Cooperation committee. He also serves on the Appropriations Subcommittee on Human Resources and the Agriculture & Consumer Affairs, Budget and Fiscal Affairs Oversight, Industry and Labor committees.